Day Three

I woke up feeling much better this morning.  Writing down what all is stressing me out has helped to both give a voice to my concerns, and show that most of them, while valid, are not realistic.  I’m using some of my pent up anxiety to get ready what I can, such as cleaning out the freezer (a much bigger job than one would expect!) and today I’m going to (attempt) to clean the oven, which looks like a food bomb went off inside and is now permanently baked on.  The boys rooms have been cleaned out and organized, and the overabundance of toys is relatively contained, along with starting piles of extra things for a yard sale and for donation.

There is nothing that a good purge can’t solve. 🙂

Plus today is day three of our mini juice fast, and day threes always rock.  Thank you little micronutrients for helping to clear up my head cold and giving me a boost of energy!

Breakfast and dessert juice today are scrumtrulecent.  And yes, I know that is not a real word, but it should be, because it accurately describes the delight that is this juice.

1 cantaloupe, peeled and seeded

1 1/2 pounds carrots

1 pint strawberries

two big handfuls of fresh mint

CAM01433

I prepped all the ingredients while Rob was at the gym, then took Logan to school while Rob juiced it all up for us.  He forgot to get a complete before picture, and snapped this shot after juicing the strawberries and cantaloupe.  Ah well, still looks pretty!

CAM01434

It’s a little hard to see, but the juice came out an almost rust orange color.  And the combo of cantaloupe and mint was such a refreshing surprise.  This juice would be perfect over ice, garnished with one of those paper umbrellas, sipped while basking poolside on a hot day.

I went outside to mow the rain forest jungle that our lawn had become (thank you torrential rains) and came in to Rob prepping our green juice for the day.  I had to take a quick shower, and by the time I came out, he was completely done, juice bottled up, and had started cleaning up after himself.  (Apparently he has the day three buzz too!)

He proudly showed me the pictures he took:

CAM01442

And yes, he named his own juice.  In honor of Rob’s hard work, I present:

A Bounteous Delight Juice (serves 6)

two big bunches of spinach

1/2 head green cabbage

1 small pineapple

two sweet potatoes

three cucumbers

1/4 watermelon

10 stalks of celery

Not only was I impressed by his sudden urge to clean up after himself, but this juice is delicious.  I’m not a huge fan of cabbage juice, but it doesn’t taste like cabbage at all; just a slightly sweet and creamy juice that fills you up.

CAM01443

 

Well, I’ve been procrastinating long enough…time to go tackle the oven!

Till next time!

Leave a Reply

