Movin’ on Up!

As much as I call them “crazies” (and they truly are) I have the best two boys.  They are such little balls of energy and spunk, but they also are amazingly sweet lil creatures.  They both love to snuggle and give hugs and kisses, often without even having to ask.  I am one fortunate mama…except all those hugs and kisses have led to me developing a wicked head cold/sinus infection.  I can usually skip getting whatever disease they bring home and pride myself on my awesome immune system.  When Logan started sneezing 10 days ago, I just tried to wash my hands more often.  Even when Evan started having a drippy nose about a week ago, I still wasn’t too worried.  And now they both are almost completely over their cold, and I wake up with sore sinus’s, a dry cough and a nasty headache.  I’ll try not to complain too much, since I know that I inherited those funky germs through a particularly wet and sloppy kiss from the smallest one, but now I know why I haven’t been feeling that great lately.

So, the mini juice “fast” isn’t going completely according to plan.  My heart is really not in it…I’m just trying to keep from sneezing on the vegetables while I prep them for juicing.  The sinus headache has finally gone away, but I’m still tired and spacey almost all day long, especially first thing in the morning.  I am juicing, about 4 times a day, but have a small snack once or twice.  Today my snack was about 1 cup of watermelon and a dill pickle, and later I’ll have a rice cake with a bit of peanut butter.  Today is day 3 of both the fast and of the head cold, and I think another day or two and I’ll be back to 100%.  The plan is to continue juicing over the next few days, while eating small and uber healthy meals.

Not only have I started a new business (Origami Owl) but we are also preparing for a huge life change.  We are moving back to Pennsylvania!  Well, I guess it is not completely official since Rob doesn’t have a job up there yet, (he is flying up in two weeks to look for one) but this is something that we have been thinking about and planning for almost a year, and I am so excited that the time is almost here!

I can’t wait to be around my family again.  I come from a very supportive and close family, where we all used to get together on the weekends and just spend time with each other.  From watching movies on my dad’s huge TV in the basement, serious Scrabble games that go on for so long that we start to get loopy, to playing slightly aggressive volleyball until we can no longer see at night, my family is pretty cool.  Add to that a huge extended family (over 40 first cousins) aunts and uncles who are crazy fun and loving, and a niece and two nephews who don’t really know who their Aunt Andrea is.

January 2012 170

 

We kind of have a history of making these big changes almost spur of the moment.  We bought our house in PA after only looking at one house, chose to sell and pack up all our belongings for a new start in Florida one evening, moved into the first apartment we saw in Fort Lauderdale, and again in Jupiter.  We tried to slow down our pace when we moved to Naples for Rob’s work, seeing four different apartments before making our decision…on the same day.  When Rob go the promotion in Sarasota, we packed up everything and moved with less than two weeks notice…while I was 7 months pregnant with Evan.  We didn’t have time to look for a place, and took over the rent on the house the old manager was living in.  Our history proves that we make up our mind quickly, and are just as quick to act on that decision.

The past year has been almost torture, keeping this exciting news from friends and family, but we really wanted to take our time making this huge decision.  After all, Rob has a great job down here…as close to financial security as one can get.  And some people might think we are crazy for giving that up, but our family is more important to us.  The family members closest to us live three hours away, and are often busy with their own issues.  Our everyday life consists of the boys and I, trying to pass the time…just the three of us.  I try to make arrangements with other moms and their kids, but often don’t get replies, so it is again…just the three of us.  I see pictures of my nephews and niece, playing with their cousins or with my mom and dad and I think “That should be my kids.”

January 2012 210

RE9A1918

046

I grew up surrounded by my cousins, spending summers running around with them, tenting in the backyard, going sledding and having bonfires during winter break.  A lot of the best memories I have as a kid involve spending time with my extended family, and I feel like I would be doing a disservice to my children if I didn’t give them the opportunity to make their own memories.

CAM00281

CAM00212

There is the saying that “It takes a village to raise a child” and I’m a firm believer in that.  Right now, my children’s village is me, and if his schedule allows, Rob.  Working in a restaurant doesn’t allow Rob to have many evenings off with his family, and the kids are usually asleep by the time he gets home from work in the evenings.  His goal in moving to Pennsylvania is to hopefully find a job with better hours that will allow him to be home in the evenings and weekends.

So that’s our plan!  Rob goes up on the 29th for a week to hopefully find a job, and depending on when he has to start, we will be going up there.  A perk of planning something so far out is we have had a year to save up a little extra money and a year to downsize our life so a move will be easier.  That being said, a lot has to get done in the next 5 weeks, a yard sale, selling almost everything we have, and tying up a lot of loose ends.  It’s going to be a lot of work, but I can’t wait!

RE9A1634Till next time!

 

2 thoughts on “Movin’ on Up!

Leave a Reply

