Day One (yup…again!)

I’ve been feeling different.  Not my usual peppy, energetic self.  Not that I woke up one morning and felt down and out, just a gradual slip away from the post juicing high that I was used to.  It doesn’t help that the past week has been really busy, not leaving much time for relaxing, or even cooking.

But this type of busy has been good.  My best friend payed a much overdue visit.  She is from Fort Lauderdale, which is about 3 hours away from us.  Our distance and opposite schedules make it hard to us to get together, so I was really excited.  It had been a long time since I had hung out with someone else who just “gets” me (other than Rob, of course!)  I think everyone needs at least one true friend, who tells you like it is and accepts you completely… messy house, greasy hair and all.  Someone who will tell you when you are being stupid or selfish, and you know it is only coming from love.  We had a great time talking, catching up, playing with all our kids (she has an adorable little girl almost two years old) and planning for the jewelry party for the next day.  She is a designer with Origami Owl, something I had been interested in for some time, so it was a good opportunity to watch how she works and figure out if I wanted to do the same thing.  The jewelry party went well, very well.  So well that I decided to sign up to be a designer with them too!

Then came the best part of her trip…going out for a girls night dinner, just the two of us.  We got dolled up, filled the babysitter in on what to do with the kids, and went over to Roy’s for an amazing dinner.  We had sushi and various appetizers, tried different fish, enjoyed a Hawaiian martini (or two:) and the chef kept sending me yummy vegetarian treats!  (Perks of being married to the general manager!)  All in all, her visit was fantastic and over WAY too soon, and left me feeling happy and full.  Happy from all the friendship, love and fun, but full from all the extra food!  I snacked on some strawberry brushetta on french baguettes, had a vegetable spring roll at Roy’s, and had a couple glasses of wine and one cocktail.  It doesn’t seem like a lot, but since I’ve only been eating really well, the gluten and alcohol made me bloated and sluggish…a feeling I haven’t been able to shake since.

So it was time to do a little juice fast,and after talking to Rob about it, we agreed to do a small one, just 3-5 days to reset my tastes away from sugar and get rid of the bloating.  Today was day one, and to say that I’m not too thrilled about fasting again is a small understatement.  I know it will be good for me, is ultimately what I need right now, yada yada yada, but this morning, juicing was the last thing I wanted to do.  I grumpily prepped and made our juices while longingly looking at the big bowl of oatmeal in the fridge which seemed to be calling to me.

I knew I wanted some orange juice this morning, since I might (hopefully not) be getting a head cold, (Thank you, my germy little crazies!) Another good reason to do a small juice fast!

Carrot and Orange (4 servings)

CAM01372

4 oranges, rind cut off

1 pound carrots

1 inch fresh ginger root

CAM01373

Simple, but perfect for this morning.  I needed this little big of sunshine to improve the foul mood I woke up in…and it did (a little)

Rob helped to prepare for our big green juice of the day.

Mean Green (6 servings)

CAM01374

20 stalks of celery

5 cucumbers

3 lemons

3 bunches of kale

2 inches of ginger

6 apples

This juice is always tasty, and a perfect way to ease back into juicing after a long absence.

I’m a bit of a brat today, but I guess it is good that I can admit to that, right?  I’m sure I’ll feel more positive about juicing tomorrow.  For now, I’m just going to fake it until I make it, and try to focus on the great benefits of juicing.  The clarity, the weight loss, the holiday from cooking, a cleaner kitchen, and the energy…ah the energy!

Looking at this next month, I’m going to need all the energy I can get.  There is a lot to do, plans to make and people to see.  Remember how I posted about a week ago that there were big changes soon to happen?  Well…I’ll spill the beans tomorrow about our plans.

Till tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

