Summer Rolls

If there was one thing during my 30 day juice fast that would have ruined all my fasting plans and decimated all the self control I was working so hard on building, it would have been watching someone else eat a summer roll.  I know I wouldn’t have been able to hold back from snatching some for myself.

I’m not quite sure how or where my love affair with these tasty and fresh Vietnamese rolls began.  There is just something amazing about stuffing fresh, crunchy and unique flavors in a chewy, flexible and see through wrapper.  And the sauce…oh baby, especially the peanut sauce…

This past Sunday, Rob and I were tired and not wanting to do all the prep and spend all the time cooking a hot meal.  It was Rob’s genius idea that we should finally make our own.  I found the peanut sauce recipe I was looking for, and whipped up a double batch for dipping.

Fresh peanut and lime sauce

1 clove of garlic

1/4 cup peanut butter

2 T fresh lime juice

2 T low sodium tamari (or soy sauce)

2 T water

2.5 tsp pure maple syrup (or other liquid sweetener)

1/2 T sesame oil

1 tsp grated ginger

Puree all ingredients together in a food processor and get ready to enjoy!

Now for the fun part!  Make sure to prep all your ingredients and have them ready to go, once you start rolling, you won’t want to stop!

Julienne carrots, cucumber, green onions, and thinly slice avocado and tofu (optional)  Thinly shred romaine lettuce.  Pick, wash and trim 1/4 cup of basil and cilantro.  Feel free to add bean or alfalfa sprouts to suit your tastes.  I personally like the texture of bean sprouts better.  Now that your vegetables are prepped and ready to roll, time to get the rice paper ready to roll as well.

Rice paper can be purchased from most specialty and oriental grocery stores.

CAM01316

Put some water on the stove and heat it up, almost to a boil.  I used a large stockpot (the only pot I could find right away)  Rice paper can be tricky, since you want to get it hydrated enough to make it chewy, but have to be careful not to cook it too long which will make it fall apart when you try to roll.  Once your water is ready, put a sheet of rice paper in, count to 5, then pull out carefully with tongs.  Gently stretch and even out the now translucent and soft paper, and place on cutting board.

Fill with the yummy vegetables, using slightly less than a handful of total ingredients.

CAM01314

CAM01315

Carefully roll the bottom of the rice paper over your veggies, fold in the sides, then roll over the rest of the way.

CAM01317

A delicious little chewy pocket bursting with different flavors and textures.  Oh mama-mia…

CAM01318

Traditional summer rolls often have bean thread or thin rice noodles rolled into the pocket, as well as different meats and shrimp.  There is also a variation of a dipping sauce made from rice vinegar, lime juice, chilies, and fish sauce.  But for us, stuffing ours full with healthy veggies and paired with peanut sauce made the perfect and light supper.  Ah, the love affair continues!

3 thoughts on “Summer Rolls

  1. I have totally enjoyed reading your blog! I loved that you detailed exactly what you had for the day and the recipes. I think maybe I am going to try the fast! This week, I have juiced fasted every other day and ate a whole food dinner the opposite day. I did this because I was afraid of slowing down the metabolism and not be able to regain it. It sounds like you were able to stabilize, which is awesome.. Thank you!

    1. Wow, I’m so happy that you have been enjoying the blog, and also that you are enjoying juicing! For me, once I got past the first three days, juice fasting was a breeze, and I never had a lack of energy or felt “foggy.” I did supplement almost everyday with a scoop of vegan protein powder and 1 tsp melted coconut oil, since I was doing a long(er) juice fast. I also didn’t have any “real” health issues before I started, so I wasn’t concerned with my blood sugar, or feeling faint from not having enough solid food. Everybody is different, just pay attention to how you feel. Thank you for the kind words!

Leave a Reply

