Days 29 and 30!

First off, let me apologize for neglecting the blog yesterday.  Thursdays are usually Rob’s day off of work, so we usually plan to get a lot of errands, chores, and family time all mushed into the same day.  Since this Saturday is our first day of eating in a month, we were out of almost every kind of food.  In order to buy all the great stuff we needed required trips to a total of 5 stores.  I hate paying more for any item than I absolutely need to, but it also means for a lot of running around to my favorite stops.  Add in an impromptu trip to Goodwill (gotta get SOME clothes that fit!) and a baby who took an exceptionally long nap, plus gym separately for both Rob and I…the day flew by!  Around four o’clock, I realized that I hadn’t posted anything yet, and I still had to do a grocery trip to Publix, make dinner for the crazies, shower, get dressed and ready for the meeting…AHHH!!

So I did not fall off the bandwagon on the second to last day.  Are you kidding me?  That would be horrible, to stop so close to the end of our goal.  Just was exceptionally busy.

One of the first chores to get done was cleaning out the fridge and taking stock to see what all we needed.  While I was doing that, I found two more beets that were hiding under our big bag of lemons, so they were first to be juiced.

Beet, Grapefruit and Carrot (makes 2 servings)

2 beets, peeled

1 Meyer lemon

1 pink grapefruit

6 large carrots CAM01023 CAM01025   Good, creamy, tart and sweet at the same time.  This made for an amazing and refreshing snack.  And the recipe made a lot, so there was about 5 oz of beet juice leftover.

I was on a roll at this point, and Rob still wasn’t back from the gym.  Now I wanted to impress him with my mad juicing skills, having him come home to a clean kitchen and prepared juices in the fridge.  (One can dream, right?)  Enter the breakfast and dessert juice:

Carrot, Apple, Lemon and Ginger (4 servings) CAM01026 10-12 large carrots

8-10 apples (I used 9 small ones)

1 Meyer lemon

2 inches fresh ginger

All the yummy ingredients didn’t make quite enough for 4 servings, so I added

1/3 pineapple

1 sweet potato

the remainder of the beet juice CAM01029 This was such a thrown together recipe that I don’t know if it can be duplicated, but I really hope I can make it again because it was SO good.  Light and not too sweet, but foamy (from the pineapple) and substantial, this was a treat to my taste buds.  Evan even got in on the action, insisting on a sippy of juice for himself.  And, Rob was impressed with my multi-tasking skills, so much so that instead of having to help me make juice, he was able to do some ab work, which Evan insisted on closely supervising… CAM01032 After breakfast, we packed up the kiddo, and got so busy that we were still only halfway done with our shopping, but were HUNGRY!  Instead of cutting our trip short and making a juice at home, we found a fresh juice shop (Keva Juice) on our travels, and ordered a large carrot juice with a shot of wheat grass.  It was pretty good and satisfying, and we were able to keep on shopping.  By the time we got home, we quickly unloaded our bags and put Evan down for a nap.  Next came  a trip to the gym, then picking up Logan from school, studying for the meeting, etc.  We almost missed drinking our dinner juice, and since we ran out of time to prep and make a new one, settled on a vegan protein shake.  Phew…told you it was a busy day!

Today was the opposite.  We were able to have a nice mellow morning, lazing around on the bed until it was time to get Logan off to school.  Rob started prepping our last (LAST!) breakfast juice.  Another amazing version of my favorite:

Watermelon Gold (4 servings)

1 yellow and orange bell pepper

2 inches fresh ginger

1 whole pineapple, peeled

2 Meyer lemons

1/4 watermelon, peeled CAM01048 Oh. my. goodness…this is FANTASTIC!!  I am a huge watermelon fan, but this one is by far the best juice we’ve made…and a perfect way to start the last day of our fast.  The reason why  I love Australian Gold juice so much is because of the tartness of lemon, sweetness of pineapple and unusually great flavor of juiced peppers.  And adding my favorite fruit in there, the mellow watermelon, just calms everything down and marries all the flavors together. CAM01049

look at that, it's like a juice latte!
look at that, it’s like a juice latte!

After catching up on a “Castle” from our DVR while we drank our juice, it was time to make our last green juice, so I pulled from another favorite, Green Elixir, and made a few modifications.

Mellow Elixir  (makes 6 servings) CAM01056 2 fennel bulbs and greens

2 bunches of kale

6 cucumbers

6 apples

1/4 watermelon

I figured that since I had already taken the time to cut up a watermelon (and still had the mess from it) I might as well keep going with the theme for the day.  I also added more cucumber and omitted the celery the original recipe called for which resulted in another light, refreshing juice.  If I make this again, a handful or two of basil would have made it even better. CAM01058So everything is made for the last juice day.  My juicer has been dismantled, soaked in hot soapy and vinegar water and scrubbed cleaner than she has been since she first came out of her box.  And yes, I realize that I am referring to my juicer as a “she” but really…working non stop, making over 150 juices in just 30 days without a complaint?  Clearly, a she!  🙂

Look forward to another big post tomorrow with final numbers and experiences, lessons learned, and other tidbits of insight from the past 30 days.  30 DAYS!!!

One thought on “Days 29 and 30!

Leave a Reply

