Day 28

Sorry for the late post today…I’ve being a bit of a procrastinator.  It’s gorgeous outside with clear blue skies and a temperature peaking in the mid-80’s.  When Evan went down for his nap (usually the best time for me to blog) I chose to go outside with my newest recipe book and soak in the sun.  Speaking of my newest book…

IMG_20140402_151125

I have been following Angela Liddon’s blog ohsheglows.com for the past three months.  Her blog is packed with beautiful, tasty and healthy recipes that she has created to fit her vegan lifestyle, and is generous enough to share with her thousands of readers.  She only uses real food and aims to create meals that both vegans and omnivores alike will enjoy.  When her first cookbook was released in the U.S. I made sure to order one as soon as I could, and two days later this beauty came to my door.  Now, I love recipe books, but there is something special about this one that blows the others out of competition.  First of all, it’s stunningly beautiful.  The photography makes you want to lick the page in an attempt to taste the food she presents.  Her recipes are clearly and simply written, making vegan “sour cream” made from soaked cashews seem like something anyone could make.  And she doesn’t use anything artificial.  Yes, technically, white sugar is vegan, as is wheat flour, but almost all of her recipes have ways to make them gluten free (score!) and use only natural sweeteners…medjool dates, maple syrup, honey, etc.

IMG_20140402_151209

I want to eat this NOW!
                    I want to eat this NOW!

Both Rob and I have been spending some of our downtime the past week or two reading the recipe book and familiarizing ourselves with how to make the different meals.  That also led to us ordering some supplies that will be needed once the fast is over on Saturday.

IMG_20140402_151045

New toys!!!  A food processor for blending and making nut butters and “cream” sauces, a strainer and nut milk bag so that we can make our own almond and other nut milks, and tahini for hummus.  (nom, nom)

But, I’m getting ahead of myself, since we still have a couple of days of juicing left.  I was able to wake up early this morning and sneak out to the gym for some cardio.  Rob made our breakfast and dessert juice while I was gone, so I came home to this…

CAM01021

Morning Gold (4 servings)

1/2 pineapple

2 lemons

1 limes

12 large carrots

1 yellow bell pepper

1 orange bell pepper

CAM01019 (1)

A little twist on my favorite, Australian Gold, but just as yummy.  Rob then took off to the gym while I prepared a little more Mean Green, since I had one portion left from yesterday.  Sorry, no pictures, since Rob had his phone with him, but it tasted just as good as it did yesterday.

Till tomorrow…

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Day 28

Leave a Reply

