Day 23

I’m sitting here typing this with my shadow, Evan, laying on my leg and staring at me.  Gosh, he so cute.  Logan has the day off of school, so it’s just me and the boys today, which I’m perfectly happy about.  We needed a mellow mama day.

After sleeping in (gasp!  until 7:45a!) and NOT having to rush around getting Logan out the door for school, I can just tell it is going to be a wonderful day.  Rob and I were able to enjoy some hot tea while slowly prepping our breakfast juice.  We were a little low on supplies, but still found enough for a delicious breakfast.

CAM00959

Clementine, Orange and Carrot (made 2-3 portions)

10 clementines

4 small oranges

10 large carrots

This tasted just like an orange creamsicle.

CAM00960

It made about three portions, so instead of having one big juice for breakfast, I saved the leftovers and added:

1 large beet, peeled

1 grapefruit

2 more carrots

And just like that…we have another dessert juice: (and isn’t she pretty?)

CAM00964

Rob was nice enough to make a run to Publix while I made the boys some breakfast.  I had just cleaned up from it when Rob came home with arms full of groceries, and it was time to prep up our green juice.

Green Carrot and Ginger (6 servings)

10 large carrots

8 stalks of celery

16 Kale leaves

3 inches fresh ginger

3 small apples (or 2 large ones)

4 cucumbers

CAM00962

This juice is pretty tasty, and I’m getting a lot more comfortable mixing and matching ingredients to make new version of old recipes.  The original recipe called for double the carrots, but I subbed celery to give it more flavor and more water.  The recipe calls for pears, but I have a ton of apples which I think makes the juice a bit sweeter than pears would.  The end result isn’t a pretty color…

CAM00963

but as long as it tastes good (which it does) I don’t care about how it looks.

Rob and I have been talking a lot about how we will do things after the fast.  It seemed like such a long time when we started, but now that we are just one week away from finishing, we realize that 30 days isn’t as dramatic as it first sounded.  I’ve started going though all the cooking and Clean Eating magazines I had laying around, finding and altering recipes to make them more plant based whole food friendly.  That way there won’t ever be a time where I don’t know what to make for dinner…I’ll have a supply of great recipes waiting to be tried.

Leave a Reply

