Day 12

I’m suffering from a bit of writers block today.  It is a gross day outside…not so sunny for “sunny” Florida.  The forecast is for thunderstorms and high wind all day, and all I want to do is be outside, but…I can’t.  So I’m settling for attempting to catch up on laundry, picking up the house, and hopefully later taking the crazies to the gym and getting my sweat on.  It is a perfect day for taking a long nap, but this dang juice gives me too much energy that I can’t sit (let alone lay) still.

After getting Logan up and ready to go back to school after a week off, I had to make a quick dash to the market for cucumbers…just cucumbers.  It seems like we are always running out of them, since most juicing recipes (especially the green ones) call for at least one or two.  Rob stayed home with Evan and got all the veggies we did have ready to be juiced.  I requested he make the Australian Gold juice for breakfast, since we had two beautiful ripe pineapples just begging to be eaten.  He put his own spin on the recipe, resulting in what we will now dub:

Australian Green juice (4 servings)

1 pineapple

2 yellow bell peppers

2 green bell peppers

2 yellow squash

1 lemon

2 oranges

He had prepared all this veg for the juice, but ended up not using the carrots:

CAM00874The juice became a very bright green color…almost the shade of the inside of a lime.

CAM00875

 

And I was skeptical of one of Rob’s creations (he once juiced two onions and 4 cloves of garlic together with carrots and celery, which we found out was a BIG no no!) this tasted very sweet, but still filling.  I think pineapple and bell pepper is an unexpected favorite of mine.

While he left to get dressed for work, I tried out a green juice recipe I have been wanting to try for a while.

Dew the Green (2 servings)

8 kale leaves

1 small honeydew

2 large cucumbers

2 handfuls of parsley

I found HUGE honeydews at the market the other day, and chopped up one of them, seeds and all, which was enough honeydew to make six portions.  The resulting juice was light, sweet, and felt like a drink to be enjoyed at a summer picnic.

Feeling the green juices today!
        Feeling the green juices today!

Hopefully tomorrow I’ll be more inspired with uplifting stories and adventures.

 

Leave a Reply

