Progress Report #1

Day 11…I am in uncharted territory.  When I did a ten day fast two months ago, it seemed like those ten days dragged by so SLOWLY that I almost counted the hours until it was over.  This time around, the first ten days have flown by, and while I do still dream about food, (literally dreamed about making summer rolls the other night) I no longer feel like I am missing out on something.  It seems like a good time to reflect on the first ten days, and possibilities of the next 20.

So, here’s some of our stats.  In the past ten days:

Rob has lost 13 pounds

I have lost 10.2 pounds.

But lets not stop there.  We whipped out the measuring tape yesterday and these numbers are CRAZY!

Rob has lost 14 1/2 total inches off his body!  His biggest loss areas are his waist (5 1/2 inches) and hips (4 inches)  He is now swimming in dress shirts that just less than two weeks ago were a bit tight.  He has been able to wear suits that have been in storage for over three years, and he had to buy all new belts.

Drum roll, please 🙂

I have lost a total of 15 3/4 inches…whoot whoot!  Biggest loss areas are; 5 1/2 from my waist, 4 from my hips, 1 1/2 from my (thunder) thighs and arms, and 3 from my bust.   I have gotten rid of EVERY single piece of clothing that is XXL or higher, went down a little over a pant size, and fit in L or XL shirts and dresses.

And although those numbers are impressive, they don’t tell of the changes we see in other areas of our life.  Our energy levels are SO much higher than they were previously, even before the fast.  I have regularly been waking up without an alarm clock before the sun raises.  I don’t wake up tired, or in a fog, but alert and well rested.  Rob usually wakes up 3o minutes after I do, which is a lot earlier then it used to be.  While it used to take us a long time to get moving in the morning, we are awake and ready to go within minutes.  We even seem to be communicating better with each other…there has been less misunderstandings and little spats, and if one of us does get snappy, we get over it a lot faster.

It is hard to express how different I feel, even in small areas.  The crazies don’t stress me out as much as before, and I have more patience when dealing with them.  I am enjoying their stories and games.  It almost feels like my life is becoming more balanced than I ever remember it being before, and I’m having a hard time fathoming how another 20 days is going to improve everything, but I am so optimistic to continue on this journey.

On to day 11:

Juices for today are different, and delicious!  I had a huge craving this morning for orange juice, and Rob was kind enough to whip up his own creation for breakfast:

Orange, Carrot and Grapefruit (2 servings)

6 large carrots

3 oranges

1 ruby grapefruit

This little burst of citrus was the perfect way to start the day.  And I daresay…I’m starting to really enjoy grapefruit.

We had to make our weekend pilgrimage to Jessica’s Farmstand for supplies, which did not disappoint.  Look at the size of that fennel!  Buying two of those puppies and the two big bags of kale made our trunk look like a mini forest.

CAM00864

 

Our dessert juice for tonight is a personal favorite of mine:

Carrot Cake juice (2 servings)

2 apples

1 1/2 sweet potatoes

6 carrots

dash of cinnamon

CAM00870

The big, green juice for today is a new one for us, which I had to tweak a little, to make enough for three meals:

Crisp and Clean Green (2 servings)

1 head of green cabbage

4 apples

12 romaine lettuce leaves

2 inch piece of fresh ginger

(I also added a cucumber, a lemon and extra ginger to ours)

CAM00872

 

This is different, but very tasty.  There is still a strong cabbage taste, but the ginger really cuts down on it.  I think even if you weren’t a big fan of cabbage, you would still like this juice.

Well, I gotta hit up the gym while the little one is napping…till tomorrow!

 

Leave a Reply

