A Third of the way!

Before I start in on today, I have a confession about yesterday.  As much as it pains me to say this…I cheated.  Before you start screaming at me and throwing my stuff out in the road, let me tell you what happened.

I have been buying a lot of quick dinner things for the boys.  Before fasting, I would usually cook most of their meals from scratch, but while on the juice fast, that is hard to do!  I cannot taste the food I am cooking, and it makes for a very hard temptation not to take a nibble or two.  They have mostly been having things like sandwiches, quesadillas, turkey meatballs with pasta, etc.  Yesterday I really wanted to make them something yummy and home cooked.  I had some oven roasted pork loin in the freezer which was defrosted and simmered in a sweet and sour sauce.  Red potatoes were cut into french fries, tossed in olive oil with salt and pepper, then roasted, and broccoli was steamed.  It all looked lovely, and I was PERFECTLY fine…until the potatoes came out of the oven.  The smell that wafted over me smelled so good and fresh, that before I even knew what I was doing, I had grabbed a small end piece and stuck it in my mouth.  I knew I shouldn’t, but I just HAD to taste a full size fry (it was only about 2 inches long).  Holy cow, even better.  Before I lost all self control, I quickly plated up their dinner and cleaned  the pan the fries were roasted in.  I’m not proud of how enviously I watched both the boys enjoy their food, or that I snuck one more (gasp!) small fry into my mouth, which Logan quickly yelled at me about.  There has been a lot of food paraded in front of me, but it was my own fries that did me in.  Ah well, it could have been much worse.

Now that I got that off my chest, we can talk about today’s juices.  Something new for breakfast (and later, dessert!)

Carrot Limeade (2 servings)

8 carrots

2  cucumbers

4 apples

1 lime

1 handful of mint

1 inch of fresh ginger

CAM00852

 

Oh, mint and lime reminds me SO much of a mojito that I almost wanted to grab some rum and make it official.  The carrots and apples sweetened it up and gave it some body.  This was GOOD!

yum...breakfast
                    yum…breakfast

I was a little over eager with our juices yesterday, and had one extra beet juice and green juice left over to use for today.  I just HAD to make another beet juice to match the one already there! 😉

Beet-ini (1 serving)

1 beet

2 oranges

1 apple

handful of mint

CAM00853

If there was a juice that should be used for breast cancer awareness month, it would be this one…look at that color!  After a couple of minutes, the juice got even prettier when the colors started to separate:

CAM00855

 

Finally for the green juice, I was really looking to up our veggie content, so I chose one that was packed full of the good stuff:

Morning Green Glory (2 servings)

10 kale leaves

2 handfuls spinach

6 romaine lettuce leaves

2 cucumbers

6 stalks of celery

2 apples

2 lemons

Look at all those veggies!
                 Look at all those veggies!

Look forward to a big post tomorrow with an update on how Rob and I are doing.  The changes after just ten days are HUGE!

 

Leave a Reply

