Day 8

Woke up this morning before the sun, feeling well rested.  I was able to read in the peaceful, dark quiet morning before the chaos of the day began.  We made arrangements with some friends (and their kids) to go to the Florida Aquarium in Tampa today.  It is spring break this week, so I’ve been a bit desperate to get the boys out of the house, and it sounded like a lot of fun.  I made some special whole wheat pancakes for the crazies and prepped up our first juice of the day.  It is a new recipe I found while browsing online  last night.

Divine Dreamsicle (2 servings)

2 apples

1/2 pineapple

2 sweet potatoes

8-10 carrots

CAM00773

 

I sneaked a quick taste before I poured the prepared juice into our jars and it did taste pretty close to a creamy orangesicle.  The sweet potato starch thickens it up and gives it a smoothie consistency while the pineapple always leaves a bit of pulp.  Rob then mixed our breakfast portion with some of the vegan protein powder and ruined it completely.  Poor guy, it’s not his fault.  I am a bit of a wuss when it comes to textures, especially of the gritty variety, and the powder must have clung to the pulp of the pineapple and the result was a chalky consistency.  Remember yesterday when I complained about the protein powder mixed in plain water being gross?  Yeah, this wasn’t much better.  I think I’ll try it one more time tomorrow, and blend the juice and powder together.

At this point we were running out of time, so I decided to use a quick green juice recipe that didn’t require a lot of prep.

Green Sweet and Sour (1 serving)

1 large bunch of spinach

3 celery stalks

2 yellow grapefruits

I didn’t have exactly the perfect ingredients, so I used what spinach we had leftover (about a big handful) and added a bunch of kale.  I had one grapefruit and substituted an orange for the other.  Not sure if I killed it by making those changes, but this was…gross.  Maybe if I was a bigger fan of grapefruit, or stuck with only the milder spinach if the flavor would have been different but it was all sour, no sweet.  I guess they all can’t be winners!  I packed up our juices to take with us to the aquarium, and we set off.

The aquarium was fantastic.  We had the great company of friends, and the boys had other young’uns to play with.

CAM00791

so beautiful!
so beautiful!
Might have to bring this kid back more often!
Might have to bring this kid back more often!

We did okay with our juices, and while I was tempted by watching the crazies eat their lunch with fresh french fries, I kept strong.  Both boys crashed on the car ride home while Rob and I soaked in the silence.  After relaxing at home, I headed out to Publix for some last minute juicing supplies and made our last juice of the day.

Green Carrot Ginger  (2 servings)

2 cucumbers

8 carrots

6 kale leaves

1 pear (or apple)

2 inches of fresh ginger

CAM00840

halfway done
halfway done
love the layering of colors...looks almost like sand art :)
love the layering of colors…looks almost like sand art 🙂
finished product, ready to guzzle
finished product, ready to guzzle

This juice had a lot of potential, and I loved that it was almost pure vegetables, but the ginger made it SO spicy.  I didn’t realize before how much more potent organic ginger is than its inorganic counterpart, but WOW!  I’ll try this juice next time with a bit less ginger.

I have “Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead” playing in the background (a little extra motivation never hurt anyone!) and looking at the big salad someone is eating is making me feel hungry!  Soon enough I will be enjoying my chick pea salads and veggie summer rolls, but for now it is time to guzzle some water. Till tomorrow!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

