Down on the Farm

I love finding new local spots, especially when they sell only locally grown organic fruits and veggies.  Rob heard about a new place from one of his coworkers, and on this lazy morning, we planned on making a family field trip to check it out.  First though, it was time for a breakfast juice.

I made a pact with myself that I would give beet juice an old fashioned try.  Now, I have always disliked beets, almost on the verge of hating them.  I don’t know if it is from growing up in Amish country where there are picked eggs and beets at EVERY gathering.  Something about the smell has always turned me off.  I was really hesitant about juicing beets during the first fast,  and was able to choke down one juice with them.  This time, I am vowing to have beets at least every other day, because they are SO good for you.  Beet juice has been proven to increase your blood flow, which in turn gives you more energy and decreases your blood pressure.  This morning we tried a new recipe:

Sunrise: (2 servings)

2 beet roots

10 carrots

4 tangerines (peeled)

1 grapefruit

The color of the juice when coming out was beautiful, but I still was a little hesitant about drinking it:

Beautiful color
Beautiful color
My first taste (ignore the bed head :)
My first taste (ignore the bed head 🙂

Surprisingly, it wasn’t too bad!  I’m not the biggest fan of grapefruit either, but this juice was decent, and it filled me up and gave me a ton of energy.  I think the sour grapefruit distracted from the strong dirt/beet taste.  Plus we peeled the beets this time, which is supposed to cut down on the whole “you are drinking worm poo” flavor.

Now that we were satiated and the crazies were fed, it was time to check out the new organic farm stand.  We drove up to a field filled with gorgeous produce as far as you could see.  The farm stand itself didn’t look like much from the outside, but once we stepped under the roof, we all started to get excited.  Huge heads of different lettuces, thick and dark green leaves of kale, tomatoes, avocados, cucumbers…too much to remember.  And the prices were not bad.  While Rob and Logan checked out all our bounty, Evan and I walked around and played with a black lab that was walking around.  There is something that just makes you feel good when you can support a local, small operation like that.  Here’s some pictures from our newest hot spot :

CAM00740 (1)

 

CAM00737

Logan kept trying to sneak little bites of everything!
Logan kept trying to sneak little bites of everything!
The fields, filled with big leafy vegetables
The fields, filled with big leafy vegetables

When we got home (after taking the crazies to the playground) I had to get a picture of all the goodies we found:

CAM00749Kale, red chard, sweet potatoes, tomatoes, cucumbers, all types of bell peppers, sugar snap peas, beets, ginger and celery.

Rob started to prep the veggies for all our juices for the rest of the day while I worked on making the kids their lunch (and getting them out of our hair!)  Our green juice of the day:

Morning Green Glory…makes 2 servings

10 kale leaves

2 large handfuls of spinach

6 romaine lettuce leaves

2 cucumbers

6 celery stalks

2 apples

Our prep, missing the kale
Our prep, missing the kale

This juice was great…very light and refreshing.  I’ve never juiced lettuce before, and was amazed at how much liquid came out.  Our last juice is for dessert tonight, and after a small taste test, can’t wait till I can drink it.

Carrot Cake: (1 serving)

6 carrots

1 1/2 sweet potatoes

2 apples

dash of cinnamon

Looking forward to day four, 1/10th of the way done!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

