Looks Like Someone is Getting New Shoes!

I concluded my last blog post with an incentive for myself to finish week 5 of C25K, which was if I could get through the last run (umm…21 minutes straight) that I would reward myself with some new shoes. At the time I thought of the incentive, I really didn’t think that I could do it, after all, I don’t think I’ve ever run for 21 minutes straight in my life. Well, I’m thinking that the pair of bright red stilettos just might be the thing, cause this chubber can run! Woo Hoo!

 
I was dreading this past Friday all week. I woke up Friday morning and reluctantly got my running gear on. I kept thinking of ways to put off the run until later, but my day was chock full. I had only 30 minutes to warm up, run and stretch, before I had to get ready for work. Then I had to work until 12, do some last minute grocery shopping for the coolest cake in the world (more about that in a little bit) and hand off the keys to Rob so he could go to work. Then I had dedicated all of my time Friday night to get the cake ready for Saturday morning delivery. So, I had to get running or else it wouldn’t happen at all this weekend. I cranked up my new running list (starting out with Rebulica’s Ready to Go…  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G3BmxjhmN20) and headed on my way. After 12 minutes, I really, REALLY wanted to stop, but just kept pushing through the wall. By the time I hit the 15 minute mark, the wall was gone and I got into a really good rhythm which I felt I could have sustained for a long time. By the time I remembered to look at my watch, I had 45 seconds left of my 21 minutes, and, (the emotional wreck that I sometimes am) I was so surprised that it was almost over that I started to cry.  It was the happiest, most meaningful cry I’ve had in a long time.  I always have a nagging doubt in my head that I fight with that tells me I won’t be able to do it.  Doesn’t matter whatever “it” is, the doubt is always there.  I’ve even adapted to that nagging sense of doubt by not expecting too much of myself, that way I can’t fail and feel bad about it.  But, when those 21 minutes were done, the doubt I’ve been feeling about running disappeared as well, which was momentarily overwhelming for me.  It was the first time I’ve known that I’ll be able to do this 5K, both physically and mentally.  I was so pumped up that I took twice the time to finish stretching outside in the crisp morning air, and even though I knew I was going to be late for work, I didn’t care!

I came back into the dark house filled with my sleeping boys and wanted to jump up and down on the bed, shouting “I can run!  I can really RUN!”  but I changed and went to work.  On my way, I texted my sister Amy (knowing she was probably on her way to work as well) “Just finished 21 minute run, woo hoo!”  She immediately called me back, and her first words were “I just wanted to check if you were still alive!”  Can’t blame the girl…the only time I ran with her I couldn’t even make it 5 minutes.  Talk about improvement!

Changing subjects, I had agreed to do a baby shower cake for one of my best friends who is expecting any day now.  Her mother wanted to do a “One fish, two fish” Dr. Seuss theme, and gave me free reign over what I wanted to do with the cake.  For a couple months now I’ve been looking forward to finishing this cake, because I knew it was going to be so colorful and unique, and finally a week ago began to bake the 10 red velvet cakes and prep for the decorations.  It’s a little hard to describe, so check out the pics!

My fishies!
"New Fish"
"One Fish" my favorite!
"Two Fish"
"Red Fish"
Holy bags of Fondant, Batman!
Starting to assemble

Rob and I then packed up the car with all the rest of the decorations and went to the baby shower site to finish there.  Less chance of massive destruction by finishing it all on site.  See the black fondant strips on the cake above?  I ran out of it that morning and had to quickly dye some new black fondant to finish the cake.  Well, I forgot gloves (of course) and the black dye completely dyed my hands a very funky shade of purple that after repeated washings, would not come off.

My Oompah Loompah hands!
Buhahaha!

And finally, the finished product:

I think I became slightly attached to this cake, but it was a major labor of love (and about 25 hours of work!)  Everything was handmade, from the cakes, icing, and fondant, to each fish and the pastillage (hard white icing) that the words were made of.  Now I can’t wait to do another one, which might not be too long from now, since I had a lot of people ask me if I could do special requests, and even one potential job offer.  Not too bad for a Saturday 🙂  But the best of all, Mommy to be (Sarah) was happy with it, and the cake helped to welcome little baby Penny into the world, as soon as she is ready!

Looking forward to week 6 (and my new shoes;)  Till then!

3 thoughts on “Looks Like Someone is Getting New Shoes!

Leave a Reply

