Part Deux

I am procrastinating…there are so many things that I should be doing, (such as clean my house, finish my talk for this week, bake a cake for this weekend) but I don’t want to do any of them!  I’m suffering through a major lack of motivation, but I’m sure it will pass.  However, until it does, I do feel like writing about the rest of the last two weeks, then hopefully, I’ll be able to peel my butt off this couch and take care of what needs to be done. 

The week that my sister was here was also week four of C25K, which makes the previous weeks seem like child play.  Here’s what it was, run for three minutes, walk for 1 1/2 minutes, run 5 minutes, walk 2 1/2, repeat twice.  I was looking forward to week four for the chance to really step it up and feel like I was improving, and I was confident that I would be able to sail through as well as I had the other weeks.  The first day, I woke up really early, cranked up my music and set on my way.  I got through the 3 minutes of running without a problem, but started to stall out when running the five minutes.  Part of my problem was that I was timing myself on my mini MP3 player, so every time I wanted to see how much time was left, I had to slow down and squint in my shirt.  I was able to finish the whole exercise, but had to stop twice on the second five minute sprint for what I call a “mental” break.  You know, the type of break just long enough to look and see that you still have two minutes left, then quickly convince yourself that it is okay, you can do it, keep on running.  I was disapointed that I couldn’t do the whole plan, but wasn’t too worried, since I still had two more days to get my body used to it.

 Later that night, I went with my personal trainer of a sister to the gym, where she beat my butt, quads, and chest into submission.  The next morning, I could barely walk, but it was a break day from running, so I took it easy.  Amy told me that night that she would like to go running with me in the morning, and I (slightly reluctantly) agreed.  Don’t get me wrong, I was really excited that she wanted to go along with me, but I wasn’t too sure how I would be able to run, since my chest and legs were in knots from the abuse at the gym.  I even woke up a bit earlier than normal, hoping that she would sleep in and I could do the run by myself.  But alas, when I woke up that morning, she was dressed, fed and pumped up to run.  I downed a cup of water and a small glass of “muscle milk” (protein powder and milk, shaken together) and laced up my sneaks.  After a brief warm up, we started the first three minutes which we both did really well, but I was not feeling good at all.  When we started the first 5 minute sprint, I was matching her pace, but could tell that my sore chest was completely tight and I couldn’t get enough oxygen in.  I had to stop after only three minutes.  Boy, was I MAD at myself.  I always get frustrated when I can’t complete an exercise, but of all the times that I really wanted to do a good job was when my physically ripped sister (who I grew up competing with, like all sisters do) was running with me. Plus Amy is pretty tall, 5’9”, and almost all legs, while I have been blessed with short, stubby legs that earned me the name of “dachshund legs” while growing up.  (Yup, my awesome family gave me the nickname of a wiener dog.)  The rest of the exercise was me, gasping for breath, while Amy kept stopping or slowing down to make sure I was okay.  To say it was not my finest moment is a HUGE understatement.  

So, the lesson that I took away from my fantastic failure?  I need to be careful who I train with.  The thing is, I’m not a happy runner…I do not look good when I run, I don’t bounce lightly off the ground with each stride.  I’m breathe hard, take choppy strides, get sweat everywhere.  For me to get through a whole exercise I need to have very loud music, and I need to be in my head at all times.  (I picture it out like a small space in my brain where there is no pain, no exhaustion, just one foot in front of the other.)  I can’t be distracted by other people or things, or be worried and stressed about who I’m with, even if all they are trying to do is support me.  So for now, I’m just going to run by myself.  (or Rob…he already knows that I get stinky and sweaty 🙂  

Since week four was not so great, I redid the entire week, with much better results.  And today, I began the first day of week 5. (woo hoo!)  This week is no joke…today was three sets of five minutes of running with three minutes of walking in between.  Wednesday? Two sets of 8 minutes of running with a 5 minute walking break, then drum roll, Friday is 21 minutes of running!  No walking, just running  for the length of a sitcom.  Oh, I’m hoping I can do it all the first time, but I’ll keep redoing it until I can finish.  I’m thinking that some motivation to finish would not be a bad thing.  Maybe a new pair of shoes when I get through this week?  Hmmm…

3 thoughts on “Part Deux

  1. wow! I am so stinkin impressed…and so very proud! 🙂 I love you so much kiddo and can’t wait to see you later this month when you visit your mom & dad. Take care…hugs – Eileen

  2. Hey girl! First of all, I LOVE the new look of your blog! Totally fits you! Secondly, I happen to LOVE wiener dogs. Stinkin’ adorable. Third, I loved this post… You always provide encouragement through your honest content.. And I really enjoy how you write. For instance, “I don’t bounce lightly off the ground with each stride” and “No walking, just running for the length of a sitcom.” Also, I definitely think you deserve a new pair of shoes. PS: You’d be so proud of Kev.. He’s lost 17 pounds so far and fits into the suit he got married in! 😉 CAN’T WAIT TO SEE YOU SOON!

  3. The new blog look is definitely you – colorful, bright and cheery!!! Like Heidi…LOVE wiener dogs. Also enjoyed the “muscle milk”. In addition to new shoes, after you start week 7, maybe you should come north for a change of scenery, haha. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

