Amy’s and Oranges (part 1)

Ahh…I am finally able to spend some time updating ya’ll on the crazy past two weeks.  As I said in my last post, my big sister Amy was coming down to sunny Florida for a visit.  She came and went, and in the 9 days she was here we hung out with friends, lazed around for three days at the beach, picked 120 pounds of fresh oranges, went shopping on Christmas Eve (which was a lot more fun than I thought it would be) and did more squats than I thought was possible.  It was nice to have her here, and she definitely gave me a big push to get my butt in the gym more often for weight training.    In the past 18 months, she has lost almost 50 pounds, and probably gained 20 pounds of muscle.  The girl looks GOOD, and I am so proud of her.  Her belly is flat, legs are ripped and her triceps literally bulge with the slightest move.  She took it all off through a lot of sweat, pain and hard work, plus finely tuned self control.  While she was here, she trained both Rob and I, and left us sore and barely able to walk for days after.  Throughout all this fun, I completely neglected to take any pictures, and especially wanted one of her schooling me in the gym, but I am going up to PA to visit Jan 18-25th, so I’ll make sure to get pictures then.

While she was here, we had an opportunity to go to an orange grove and pick our own citrus.  After searching for an evening, we found U-Pick Citrus in Fort Myers, FL.  (http://www.facebook.com/pages/U-Pick-Citrus/213809921601?sk=wall)  It took us an hour to get to their 10 acre citrus grove, and we thought we were lost until we saw the smallest hand painted sign with an arrow pointing down a sandy dirt road.  We found the grove tucked behind some farms, and I instantly fell in love with the place.  We drove up their dirt driveway, through the orange grove, and parked around the side of their house.  This was the sign that we saw:

Image

Seriously, how cool is that?  The homeowner, Judy (who was the nicest lady in the world), came out and helped us get ready to pick.  We each grabbed a 5 gallon bucket and set off, grazing along the way.  There were tangelos, grapefruits, clementines, naval oranges, lemons, etc.  It seemed like every row we went to was better than the last, and we all had warm orange juice dripping from our faces as we feasted on the sweet oranges.  Logan even got excited and started filling up his hat with his pick of oranges.

Image

We spent almost 4 hours walking through the grove, having a blast.  We ended up leaving with all of our buckets filled to the brim, totaling almost 120 pounds of fresh Florida citrus.  And the damage for all of it?  $40…are you kidding me?  Here are some random shots from my newest favorite place:

Driveway

Bob (left) and Judy (right) planted each of the 3,000 seeds 20 years ago
We weren't the only ones enjoying the orange blossoms!

We had such a good day, and I’m still eating oranges a couple times a day.  (The sweetest are the navel oranges)  And Rob and I both agree that we will be going back more often to stock up on our citrus from now on.  More to come from the past weeks!

One thought on “Amy’s and Oranges (part 1)

  1. What a fun day!! Loved the photo of the sign.. Haha! The Citrus farm looked like a location we would photograph a family at.. 😉 And you cannot beat that price for fresh, organic citrus!!! I think I know where we’re going next time we visit! Loved all the photos you took… Can’t wait to see you guys soon!!

Leave a Reply

