Week Two is Through!

 

Week two of C25K is done!  This week was 1 1/2 minutes running, 2 minutes walking, repeated six times.  The first day, I felt pumped up and ready to run.  It seemed like I was able to recover quickly, and figured out the timing quickly.  The second day, however, was a completely different story.  I got home from working all day, and was exhausted and smelly.  Work had been especially physical that day, having cleaned three houses, one of which being a three story beach house that took three hours.  I must have gone up and down those flights of stairs 30 times.  By the time I got home, my knees were throbbing and my feet were cramped.  I was hungry, dehydrated, and a bit grumpy.  It took me an hour to talk myself into putting on my shorts and sneakers, and I struggled to get through the first couple sprints.  (I wanna go home!  I need coffee!  This SUCKS!)  But somewhere around the third sprint, the endorphins kicked in and I started going faster.  After the fifth cycle, I actually started laughing and felt a little bit intoxicated.  You’ve heard that expression, “I’m high on life”?  Yup, that was me.  Just running, sweating and laughing through the rest of the exercise.  I was so happy that I made myself get up and go though with my run.  The third day, I woke up early for work and made my way to the gym, since it was a rainy, chilly morning and ran on the treadmill.  I’m going to only use the treadmill if there is no way I can run outside, because it is SOOO…BORING!  I love the feeling of actually going somewhere, and running on a treadmill makes me feel like I’m a hamster on a wheel.  Now, I’m looking foward to week three, and just trying to keep the momentum going.  I stepped on a scale yesterday and saw that I’ve lost 7 pounds since starting C25K two weeks ago…not bad at all!

Changing topics, I wanted to let you know what I was doing in the kitchen.  I love to cook and bake, but sometimes it is not always easy to find clean, healthy recipes for my family that will not cancel out all the hard work I’ve been doing physically.  I think it would be fun to do a recipe a week, and show what substitutions I’ve made to make our food a little bit better for us.  This week, I was motivated by my son, Logan.  He came up to me after lunch one day, and with his cutest face, said “Mama, why don’t we have cookies anymore?”  I used to make batches of cookies all the time, whether they were for us at home, or to bring to dinners that we were invited to.  But the past month, I haven’t even thought about making some.  I guess Logan must have been feeling neglected, he looked so pathetic.  So I decided to experiment to make a chocolate chip cookie that you didn’t have to beat yourself up after eating.  It’s a recipe that I’ve been playing around with for about a year, but I think I have it pretty good now.  So here you go:

Less-Guilt Chocolate Chip Cookies

1/4 c. butter (I substitute Earth Balance, with no cholesterol)

1/3 c. brown sugar or sucanant (dried cane syrup)

1/4 c. white sugar 

Cream the butter and sugars together till light and fluffy, then add:

1 tsp vanilla or almond extract (my favorite is almond)

2 egg whites

Logan helping out in the kitchen...he loves to whisk!

Whisk until smooth, then add:

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 cup plus 2 T white whole wheat flour

1/4 c semi or dark chocolate chips

Drop by teaspoonfuls onto baking sheet with parchment paper.  Bake at 350F for 9 minutes, or until slightly golden.  Batch will make about a dozen cookies.

 

Yum...the finished product!

What I love so much about these cookies is that since it is a smaller batch, I’m not going to feel compelled to eat dozens of cookies just so they don’t go stale.  Substituting the white whole wheat flour instead of all purpose flour means a serving of good for you natural wheat.  The Earth Balance spread and egg whites means no cholesterol, and yet it still tastes like a cookie.   I haven’t had time to experiment with different types of sweetener, but I’m sure you could use a stevia blend or agave nectar, to cut down on the calories even more.  Each cookie contains a hair less that 4 grams of fat and 120 calories, so having a cookie or two will not derail your diet, just sweeten it a little.

Another happy customer 🙂

If you get a chance to try it out, let me know what you think!  Looking forward to stepping it up a little in week three, plus my not so big sister comes in on Friday for a 10 day visit.  WOO HOO!  Have a great week!

 

One thought on “Week Two is Through!

  1. Really loving these posts.. Keep ’em coming! So encouraging to read how you powered through feeling crappy.. to just DOING IT – And then you felt better! Awesome. And love the pantless little boy on the counter. So cute. 🙂

Leave a Reply

