In Limbo

So it has been a crazy month…between moving, unpacking, Rob’s new job, finishing all the loose ends, etc, things have been just a tad hectic.  Some positives?  I really like our new condo.  It’s a lot larger than our previous apartment (let’s face it, most closets are bigger than our old apartment) but it is still cozy.  I can sit outside on our patio and not be attacked by hordes of mosquitos while watching the sunset.  Logan has a slight obsession with the carpet in the condo, and uses every opportunity to tell anyone about it.  One example, at the grocery store last week, the clerk asked him how he was doing today.  His response?  “I’m doing good, running around and around on a carpet, so soft and cozy!”   Ah jeez, and don’t even get him started about the Jupiter lighthouse, it’s like crack to him.  And the people overall are so much nicer than the crazy people in Fort Lauderdale;  they all smile and will talk to you, instead of pretending to suddenly be interested in their cell phone whenever they pass a stranger.  But there have been some negatives too… it hasn’t all been peaches and gravy.  One thing, I don’t know my way around town yet.  Granted, that is too be expected at this point, but it’s still frustrating.  Another big thing, I miss my husband.  He’s been working insane hours, (we are talking 50-60 hours/week) weird shifts, and there doesn’t seem to be any end to it.  I knew he would be working more, but we both were told that once he was done with training, he would be on a set schedule with more normal hours.  He’s been done with training for two weeks and has been working more.  Yesterday he worked from 11am till 7pm, and is working today from 7am till 7pm.  Oh, and he is on a stretch of 12 days straight…ridiculous!   Not quite sure what we are going to do about it, but something is going to have to change. 

My boys at the beach...I love them too much!

Okay, enough of the pity party.  I’ve finally gotten into a new running routine.  Every other morning I walk a lap around our complex, run a lap, then cool down by walking another lap.  Each time around is a half mile, so I’m not doing as much as I want to, but I increase my distance a little every time.   Goal is to run two laps (one mile) by December 1st.  Baby steps 🙂  Although I feel off the wagon, I’m not beating myself up too bad.  The important thing to me is that I started back up again and that I keep making positive decisions, even if they are small.  So I stopped running for a couple of weeks, but I didn’t gain any weight back because I was able to control (mostly) what I shoved into my mouth.  (There was one incident that involved chocolate chip cookies, but we don’t need to go into that!) 

 I think that so many people fail at losing weight because they start out really strong, have one setback, get frustrated and throw their arms up and quit.  I know… I have been there many times.  Losing weight is two steps foward, one step back.  Just when you start to do really good, something happens that makes you lose faith and you  think that you can’t do it.  I read that the people who are successful at losing a lot of weight and keeping it off tried an average of 9 different weight loss programs until something finally worked.  It isn’t that all their ninth tries were all the same wonderful program, but that they were finally ready to completely commit to getting healthy after failing eight times.  So even though I went through a slump, I’m not beating myself up because I was able to work myself out of it a lot quicker than before.  It was just another step in the right direction.

The month of December is shaping up to be a fun and busy one.  Out of the whole month, there are only 5 days that we are not having someone visiting with us.  (Perks of living in a tropical paradise 🙂  Our friends Blayne and Lynne are coming the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd.  My parents are visiting the 6th through the 13th.  My cousin Heidi and her hubby Kevin are coming down the 10th through the 15th, then my big sister Amy is flying down for December 22nd-31st.  I know it is going to be crazy, but I’m so stinkin excited!  I need to see my family and friends and I’m so thankful that they are all coming to me!  But with visitors come temptations to eat badly and slack off, so I’m making advance plans to make sure I’m not caught off guard.  To sound cliche, the best defense is a good offense!  (Buhahaha!) 

Heidi and Kevin YAY!!! (and random doll head 🙂

I will let you know how it goes!  Till next time…

One thought on “In Limbo

  1. Hello baby sis! I am getting VERY excited to join you in Florida in less than a month!!!! Woo Hoo! Don’t worry about slacking off on your diet on my accord, I am all about clean eating, very low carbs (only whole grains), you know… all the good clean food 🙂 🙂 We’ll go grocery shopping together and make it our best time while we’re together. Oh, and if you’re going to cheat on your diet, do it during the middle of the day (not late at night) and you’ll just burn it off, no big deal, no beating yourself up. Keep running (don’t forget to stretch afterward) and can’t wait to see a slimmer you soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

