And We’re BAACCKKK!!!

I have been stuck in a rut, ya’ll.  Pretty obvious, since it has been (gulp) almost a month since I last wrote.  Every time I would sit down to write, I couldn’t come up with more than one or two sentences.  Whether it was a case of writers block, laziness, or just plain guilt, I don’t know. (probably option #3)  Ah well, there has been a lot going on since my last post.  Let just dive in, shall we?

First, three months ago Rob interviewed for a Catering Sales Manager position at the Crab House in Jupiter, FL.  The interview went really well, and he was told he had the job, but had to wait for the paperwork to go through corporate.  We waited every day to hear if he got the offer or not, just to find out after two months that the HR in charge of his file was waiting for the results of a drug test that he forgot to send off to us.  So, Rob peed in a cup the next day, and got the offer the following day.  Yay!! Hello benefits, two weeks paid vacation and a salary position!  The next morning, I turned in my notice at my work, and today was my last day.  Double Yay!

Second (and on a sad note) my grandmother passed away on September 18th.  She was surrounded by her family and was not in any pain.  I was feeling a whole mixed bag of emotions; from relief that she was no longer in pain or frustrated from her limited mobility, to guilt that I wasn’t there for her final days or the funeral, and finally acceptance.  She was a wonderful, giving, loving and fun little lady, and I’m going to miss her laughter and her hugs.  But I know that next time I see her, she will be happy and healthy and all of this will be a distant memory.

Third, shortly after my G-ma passing away, I contracted some sort of stomach/ head cold.  I knew it would probably happen sooner or later, since a lot of my residents were sick, but I was hoping to slip out of there unscathed.  Alas, it was not to be.  I first noticed that something was up when I was out for a run, and after 5 minutes, had to stop to dry heave.  Yeah…not the way you want to spend your work out…leaning on someone’s fence feeling like what’s inside is trying to make its way out…yuck!  Needless to say, I walked home, took some vitamin C and went to bed early.  Woke up the next morning with a sore throat, which then progressed to headaches, cough, runny nose, and what felt like the beginning of bronchitus.  It was only about three days ago that I have felt back to 100%, and during that time, I did not chance hitting the road for another run.  Since I knew I wasn’t working out as much as I should be, I watched every little thing I ate, had smaller portions, and made sure to walk as much as I could.

So, what is the damage report from my month of changes and distractions?  Surprisingly, not so bad…I still ended up losing 4 pounds this past month.  (Granted, it wasn’t the 10 pounds I was going for, but at least I didn’t gain!) I slept in a little this morning because there was not an alarm screaming at me at 6am to get up for work.  Rob has an appointment today before work to see a condo that we are really excited about.  And I am starting to pack up our teeny, 600 square foot apartment.  All in all, everything feels like a breath of fresh air and things are starting to move foward, not stuck in a standstill.  I was even able to drag my moldy butt back into my running shoes for the first time in a couple of weeks and the second I started to run, it all came back to me. 

Oh, and one last thing, I have taken to wearing shorts.  For anyone who knows me, thats HUGE!  I was always too unhappy with my nasty, saggy, cottage cheese legs that I refused to wear any type of shorts, despite the hot, humid, Florida summer.  But my legs are more shapely and strong then funky, and there is something kind of wonderful about having them out all day.  Why didn’t anyone tell me about this before? 🙂

2 thoughts on “And We’re BAACCKKK!!!

Leave a Reply

